Mayor and City Council

Upcoming Events

South Main Street Area Workshop
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
6:30 PM – 8:00 PM
Hosted by Pacific Park Neighborhood Association
Roosevelt-Walker Community Center
816 East Chestnut Avenue
Santa Ana, CA 92701

Grand Avenue/ 17th Street Area Workshop
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
7:00 PM – 8:30 PM
Hosted by Meredith Parkwood/Portola Park Neighborhood Associations
John Muir Fundamental Elementary
1951 Mabury Street
Santa Ana, CA 92705

West Santa Ana Boulevard Area Workshop
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
6:30 PM – 8:00 PM
Hosted by Artesia Pilar Neighborhood Association
Romero Cruz Elementary
2701 West Fifth Street
Santa Ana, CA 92703

55 Freeway/Dyer Road Area Workshop
Monday, April 29, 2019
4:00 PM – 5:30 PM
Holiday Inn Santa Ana-OC Airport
2726 South Grand Avenue
Santa Ana, CA 92705

South Bristol Street Area Workshop
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
6:00 PM – 7:30 PM
South Coast Global Medical Center
2701 South Bristol Street
Santa Ana, CA 92704



Mayor and Council


From left to right: David Penaloza, Vicente Sarmiento, Miguel Pulido, Juan Villegas, Cecilia Iglesias, Jose Solorio

The Santa Ana City Council is comprised of seven members consisting of the Mayor and six Councilmembers. Councilmembers are nominated from one of six geographic wards in the City and then elected citywide. The City Councilmembers serve a four-year term and are limited to three consecutive terms. The Mayor is directly elected at-large and has term limits of no more than four (4) two-year terms. Mayor Pro Tem is nominated and elected from amongst the seated council.

City Council meetings are open to the public and are held on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of each month. Closed Session Meetings are held at 5:00 pm, immediately followed by the Regular Business Meeting at approximately 5:45 pm.

The meetings are held in the City Council Chambers - 22 Civic Center Plaza Santa Ana, CA 92701 or as noted on the agenda.